Student Voice

Within Saintfield High School community every child matters. Each and every pupil is encouraged to express their feelings and contribute to the vision and future direction of the school.

The Student Voice is a group of pupils from all year groups who meet on a regular basis to discuss and debate issues pertaining to school development and policy. Members of Student Voice are encouraged to present and share the feelings or concerns of their counterparts. The contribution of Student Voice is never taken for granted. Their ideas are received, considered and reflected upon with the utmost sincerity.

The Student Voice for the academic year 2020-2021 are:

Year 8

  • Mia McMullan - 8BK

  • Ellie Brockbank - 8MY
  • James Wightman - 8JA

Year 9

  • Callum Breen - 9LC
Miriam Gibson - 9KI
Ross Brown - 9AT

Year 10

  • Robyn Minnis - 10HE

  • Ross Stevenson -10CR
Erin Lloyd - 10SC

Year 11

  • Ethan Sproule - 11BI

  • Samera McMullen - 11BI
Ben Eakins – 11EL

  • Ethan Thompson - 11TG

Year 12

  • Mason Scott - 12CP

Louis Seddon - 12MC
  • Adam McIlveen – 12MU

Student Voice

My favourite subject is PE because it is fun and you don’t have to write.
I agreed to be on the Student Voice so that I could talk to other students and forward their opinions. I like SHS because it’s not too big and it’s easy to make friends and there are lots of people that like the same stuff as me. My hobbies are Young Farmers, diggers, tractors and hockey.

ROBYN MINNIS 10HE. My favourite subject is French as I find it really interesting and fun. I like the sports at Saintfield High School. My favourite hobbies are Camogie, Hockey and netball.

I am currently studying for my GCSE’s. I think the Student Voice is a really good way to make a difference in the school and contribute to making decisions. My favourite subject is Geography as I find it very interesting. In my spare time I like to airsoft and go out with my friends.

My favourite subject is Technology and Design as I love to try and make different things. I want to be a part of the Student Voice because I want to hear other people’s opinions about the school and if they would like something changed, if I could possibly do that, depending on what it is. There are many things about Saintfield High School like, the teachers, the lessons are shorter than you think and getting to see your friends every day of the week. My hobbies are playing football and playing the trumpet.

My favourite subject is RE and I am very passionate about learning about different faiths and how they practice it.
One of the reasons I joined Student Voice is because I wanted to inform others on the changes we can make to our school for the better.
Some of my hobbies include baking, dancing, drama and basketball.

My favourite subject is Technology.
I agreed to be on Student Voice as my class voted for me and I feel that I have good ideas that would be good for our school.
The thing I like about SHS is changing classes and the teachers push us to do our best.
I have two hobbies which I like to do, motocross and playing matches for my football team.

My favourite subject is History because it has made me appreciate the way things have changed over time. My hobbies are playing piano, horse-riding, gymnastics and hockey. I agreed to be on Student Voice because I want to make the school a better place for everyone and add to the school community. I like Saintfield High School because I feel like we are all a community. I also love learning new subjects moving about the school and having different teachers.

What I like about Saintfield High School is that it is a warm, happy and safe environment, it is easy to make new friends and everyone is always there for you.
I was interested in being on the Student Voice as I thought about the opportunities that it could offer.
Being on the Student Voice has helped my communication skills not just inside but outside the classroom too!
By being able to help the school community achieve and embark on new journeys also helps you grow as a person and builds your self-esteem.
I enjoy many of the subjects that I study. Some of my favourite subjects are Technology and Design, Geography and Maths. I like these subjects because they are fun but you can also express your creativity and work alongside others.
In my spare time I enjoy being active and communicating with new people. I like to attend GB, Young Farmers and the gym. By going to these clubs and places I have built my own self confidence as I get to meet new people and take part in many different experiences.